Tour of an Industrial ship

 

Pradeep port, Orissa, India. Have you ever watched Popeye: the sailor man? I used to watch this cartoon when I was a kid and used to imagine owning my own ship one day. And today I got to see an actual ship for the first time. An amazing experience it was, by seeing an actual industrial ship from the inside.

 

A picture from the control room of the ship, makes me feel like my dreams come true of becoming a Captain. In the back, you can see the computers that are used for navigation and to check on the weather and maps. They also had 3 different types of compass 2 manual and 1 computerized one. If the computerized compass broke they could still have 2 manual compasses to take them to there destination. If only I knew how to sail a ship my dreams would come true, nevertheless I also had a good conversation with the Captain of the ship, about the way the ship worked and how difficult it is to work and travel in the sea. Just loved this experience.

Leave a comment